Home India News US News Chat with PDF Document Cheap Flights Hotel Booking Play & Earn Web Hosting List My Startup Mock Test Filmybaap Contact Us Advertise Zordo Products

National Games 2023: Palak Gulia, Rutuja Bhosale and Angad Vir Bajwa add second gold to their tally

7 months ago 111

Asian Games gold medallist shooter Palak Gulia of Haryana, tennis star Rutuja Bhosale of Maharashtra and skeet shooter Angad Vir Bajwa of Punjab bagged their second gold medal of the 37th National Games as the race for the top of the table heated up with four days left for the closing ceremony.

Gulia added the women’s 10m Air Pistol gold to her 10m air pistol mixed team gold at the Manderem Shooting range while Bajwa paired with Parinaaz Dhillon to win mixed team skeet gold as third-placed Haryana’s gold tally reached 48.

Maharashtra continued to remain on top of the medal tally with a total of 193 medals including 67 gold, 61 silver and 65 bronze while Services Sports Control Board (SSCB) are second with 52 gold medals. However, with Haryana expected to win at least 7-8 gold medals from boxing and a few more in shooting, they are sure to push for the top spot.

Later in the day, Odisha got the better of Manipur in the penalty shootout to win the women’s football at Tilak Maidan, Vasco. Both teams were deadlocked on 1-1 at the end of regulation time and extra time which forced the match into a tie-breaker. Odisha prevailed on penalties 4-2 to secure the gold. Earlier in the day, Haryana women beat West Bengal by a solitary goal to clinch the bronze in women’s football at the Tilak Maidan in Vasco.

In the morning session, Gulia led Haryana’s sweep of 10m Air Pistol medals with Rhythm Sangwan and Drishti Sangwan clinching the silver and bronze respectively.  In the mixed skeet event, Zahra Deesawala and Munek Batula of Telangana clinched the silver while Mairaj Khan and Areeba Khan of Uttar Pradesh won the bronze.

Another Asian Games gold medallist, Abhay Singh representing Tamil Nadu, showcased his class by defeating his state-mate and second seed Velavan Senthilkumar 11-7, 12-10, 11-6 to clinch the men’s singles squash gold.

Goa’s Akanksha Salunkhe added one more gold to the state’s tally after the second seed beat Tamil Nadu’s Pooja Arthi 11-5, 11-4, 11-3 in the final at the Chicalim multipurpose stadium.

Meanwhile, Bhosale added a mixed doubles title to her women’s doubles crown on Sunday, partnering Arjun Kadhe. The Maharashtra duo defeated Tamil Nadu’s N Jeevan and C Sai Samitha 6-3, 6-1 to clinch the gold medal.

Sidharth Vishwakarma beat Sidharth Rawat 6-4, 1-6, 7-6 in an all Uttar Pradesh final to win the gold in the men’s singles final while top seed Vaidehi Chaudhari secured the gold in the women’s category beating Telangana’s Rashmika Srivali 7-5, 7-6.

At the Chapora River, Madhya Pradesh and Odisha shared the gold medals on offer in Canoeing and Kayaking. Manaswani won the Individual Kayak title while Kaveri Dimar and Shivani Verma paired together to win the gold in Canoe Pair for Madhya Pradesh. Odisha’s pair of Fulmani Xaxa and Oinam Bidya Devi won the other gold in Kayak pair.

In the triathlon competition at Miramar beach, last edition’s champion Pragnya Mohan of Gujarat broke the pedal of her cycle and was later disqualified despite finishing second because she took external help to fix it.

This meant that Maharashtra completed a 1-2 with Mansi Mohite claiming the gold with a time of 1:14.06s and Sanjana Joshi taking the silver with a time of 1:17.50s. Manipur’s Sorojini Thoudam finished third with a time of 1:18.33s.

David Beckham of Andaman & Nicobar Islands added one more medal to the Union Territory’s tally as he won the Men’s Keirin Cycling event at the Indira Gandhi Indoor stadium in New Delhi. He edged out his national team mate Rojit Singh while Mayur Pawar won the bronze.

Mayuri Lute of Maharshtra won the gold in the women’s Keirin ahead of fellow internationals Sushikala Agashe of Maharshtra and Triyasha Paul of Delhi.

Important Results:


10 M Air Pistol Women

Gold – Palak Gulia (Haryana) – 241.1

Silver – Rhythm Sangwan (Haryana) – 238.7

Bronze – Drishti Sangwan (Haryana) – 219.3


Men’s Singles Finals

Sidharth Vishwakarma (Uttar Pradesh) bt Sidharth Rawat (Uttar Pradesh) – (6/4, 1-6, 7/6 (5)

Bronze – Manish Suresh Kumar (Tamil Nadu), Ranjit Murugesan (Tamil Nadu)

Women’s Singles Finals

Vaidehi Chaudhari (Gujarat) bt Rashmika Bhamidipaty (Telangana) – 7/5, 7/6 (2)

Bronze – Vaishnavi Adkar (Maharashtra), Zeel Desai (Gujarat)

Mixed Doubles Finals

Gold – Rutuja Bhosale/Arjun Kadhe (Maharashtra) bt C. Sai Samhitha/Jeevan Nedunchezhiyan (Tamil Nadu) – 6/3, 6/1

Bronze – Yubrani Banerjee/Nitin Sinha (West Bengal), Sharmada Balu/Prajwal S.D Dev (Karnataka)


Men’s Singles

Abhay Singh (Tamil Nadu) bt Velavan Senthilkumar (Tamil Nadu) – 11-7, 12-10, 11- 6)

Bronze Medal – Harinder Pal Sandhu (Tamil Nadu), Rahul Baitha (Maharashtra)

Women’s Singles

Akanksha Salunkhe (Goa) bt Pooja Arthi (Tamil Nadu) – 11-5, 11-4, 11-3

Bronze Medal – Urvashi Joshi (Maharashtra), Ratika Seelan (Tamil Nadu)


Men’s Omnium

Gold – Niraj Kumar (Haryana) – 136 points

Silver – Vishavjeet Singh (Punjab) – 134 points

Bronze – Dinesh Kumar (SSCB) – 126 points

Men’s Keirin

Gold – David Beckham (Andaman & Nicobar Islands)

Silver – Yanglem Rojit Singh (Manipur)

Bronze – Mayur Shasikhant Pawar (Maharashtra)

Women’s Keirin

Gold – Mayuri Lute (Maharashtra)

Silver – Shushikala Agashe (Maharashtra)

Bronze – Triyasha Paul (Delhi)


Compound Men Individual

Gold – Ritik Chahal (Delhi)

Silver – Rajat Chauhan (Rajasthan)

Bronze – Parth Korde (Maharashtra)

Compound Women Individual

Gold – Taniparthi Chikitha (Telangana)

Silver – Priya Gurjar (Rajasthan)

Bronze – Avneet Kaur (Punjab)

 Compound Mixed Team

Gold – Srishti Singh/Chirag Vidyarthi (Madhya Pradesh)

Silver – Kiran/Mohit Dagar (Haryana)

Bronze – Avneet Singh/Kulwinder Singh (Punjab)

Compound Men’s Team

Gold – Delhi

Silver – Maharashtra

Bronze – Rajasthan

Compound Women’s Team

Gold – Rajasthan

Silver – Punjab

Bronze – Maharashtra

Canoeing and Kayaking

Women’s 500 M Individual Kayak

Gold – Manaswani Swani (Madhya Pradesh) – 2:21.180 s

Silver – Ph. Sonia Devi (Uttarakhand) – 2:21.368 s

Bronze – G. Parvathy (Kerala) – 2:21.404 s

Women’s 500 M Kayak Pair

Gold – Fulmani Xaxa/Oinam Bidya Devi (Odisha) – 2:22.132 s

Silver – Sandhya Kispota/Rajina Kiro (Andaman & Nicobar Islands) – 2:22.920 s

Bronze – G. Parvathy/Treesa Jacob (Kerala) – 2:23.612 s

Women’s 500 M Canoe Pair

Gold – Kaveri Dimar/Shivani Verma (Madhya Pradesh) – 2:22.920 s

Silver – Megha Pradeep/Akshaya Sunil (Kerala) – 2:22.968 s

Bronze – Sachima Kerketta/Rasmita Sahu (Odisha) – 2:28.832 s

 Women’s Football

Gold Medal Match

Odisha bt Manipur – 1-1 (4-2)

Bronze Medal Match

Haryana bt West Bengal – 1-0


Women’s Individual

Gold – Mansi Mohite (Maharashtra) – 1:14:06

Silver – Sanjana Joshi (Maharashtra) – 1:17:50

Bronze – Thoudam Sorojini (Manipur) – 1:18:33



Pool A: Maharashtra bt Tamil Nadu – 44-21, Chandigarh bt Punjab – 43-29

Pool B: Haryana bt Uttar Pradesh – 35-31, SSCB bt Goa – 35-24,


Pool A: Punjab bt Jharkhand – 67-15, Haryana bt Goa – 48-11

Pool B: Himachal Pradesh bt Uttar Pradesh – 52-22, Rajasthan drew Maharashtra – 30-30

Read Entire Article