Home India News US News Chat with PDF Document Cheap Flights Hotel Booking Play & Earn Web Hosting List My Startup Mock Test Filmybaap Contact Us Advertise Zordo Products

'Plan in place': ICC official on terror threat to T20 WC

1 month ago 57

NEW DELHI: The International Cricket Council (ICC) is collaborating closely with the host countries of the Men's

T20 World Cup

, the West Indies and the USA, to ensure that appropriate security measures are in place following reports of a

terror threat

to the event.
"ICC is working closely with the host countries to ensure appropriate plans are in place. We immediately spoke to the authorities as the reports emerged, and the Cricket West Indies has assured everyone that a comprehensive security plan is in place to address any risk," an ICC official stated.

Trinidad & Tobago's Prime Minister, Dr Keith Rowley, emphasized that security agencies are working diligently to combat any potential threats to the tournament.

He acknowledged the ever-present danger of terrorism in the 21st century and the need for nations to make extra efforts in security preparations and response readiness when hosting large or vulnerable gatherings.

"Given the fact that bad actors can choose to misbehave in any way possible it makes it virtually impossible to completely seal off all opportunities. However, in order to ameliorate these dangers, we at the local and regional levels have remained alert to many threats and singularly or together have our intelligence and other security agencies working to protect the population in countries and at venues throughout the tournament," said Rowley.

The T20 World Cup will be hosted across various venues in the Caribbean, including Kensington Oval in Barbados, Brian Lara Cricket Academy in Trinidad, Providence Stadium in Guyana, Sir Vivian Richards Stadium in Antigua,

Darren Sammy

Cricket Ground in St Lucia, and Arnos Vale Stadium in St Vincent. In the USA, matches will be held at Eisenhower Park in New York, Broward County in Lauderhill, Florida, and Grand Prairie Stadium in Dallas, Texas.

The tournament will feature 20 teams divided into four groups of five each for the first round, with the top two teams from each group advancing to the Super Eight stage. The Super Eight will consist of two groups of four teams, with the top two sides from each group progressing to the semi-finals.
The semi-finals will be held in Guyana and Trinidad and Tobago on June 26 and 27, respectively, with the final taking place in Barbados on June 29. Reserve days are in place for both the semi-finals and the final.
(Inputs from IANS)

Read Entire Article